Magnets

Painting on magnet

In 2016, Ced VERNAY developed a new kind of work, but this time the painting is on magnet. Magnetic round, painted one by one, they allow the image to be deconstructed and then recreated using an ingenious numbering system.

The purchasers of this type of work take the place of the artist. They can create new works and then reconstruct the image originally painted by Ced VERNAY. Not only interactive, immersive but also and above all playful works.

A giant puzzle in a way, with endless combinations.

Know how to take the right distance

Once again, taking a step back from these magnetic paintings allows you to have an overview, to adjust the brief definition of making your own auto-focus.

The distance we take from his works allows a natural focus. Up close we discover the technique and the infinite patience necessary to paint each of these magnets. From away, the spectator magically discovers the subject that has become clear again.

However, for this serie of paintings on magnets, the first physical step back does not always reveal its secrets easily. The use of a cellphone is therefore essential to instantly reduce the size of the image (photo mode). In doing so, the pixels are reduced in the same proportion and the scenes often from the 7th Art, appear as if by magic.

Playful and interactive works

Again, Ced VERNAY offers an immersion. This time he goes further in his proposal to actually take possession of the work. The buyers can indeed take the place of the artist. Let their creativity run free! Each magnet is carefully numbered on the back, it is of course possible to return to the original image.

Cognitive memory

As soon as the brain memorizes the image, an interesting cognitive phenomenon occurs. The viewer will be able to see the details of these film scenes without going through the use of the digital devices described above. Our vision coupled with our brain capacities make us just as powerful as the lens of our digital devices.

An original piece of work and two magnetic prints

Ced VERNAY offers for this singular technique an original work of art, the matrix, but also a limited series of two numbered and signed copies.

Each original painting is available in a limited edition of two copies. Signed lower right, numbered on the back, the originals and the prints are delivered with certificate of authenticity signed by the artist.

The original paintings consist of a metal plate and hundreds of magnets painted one by one and numbered on the back. The prints are also laminated one by one on numbered magnets on the back and positioned on a metal plate allowing their movement.

For more details, please enter in contact

Transformers: paints on interchangeable magnets

The pixel French artist Ced VERNAY hoped to be able to offer his collectors a work which, thanks to his ingenious numbering system, could offer two or even several images with the same magnets. Transformable images made of magnets he calls Transformers.
Thanks to a collaboration with a mathematician, Ced VERNAY saw his wish to be realized.
Made possible by the creation of an algorithm that generates a code. The latter then indicates how to move the magnets on the original metal support.

How it works ?

Ced VERNAY first chose an image which he would patiently paint, magnet by magnet. He numbers them on the back, then places them on a metal plate also numbered.

Once this first work is painted, Ced VERNAY selects a second image which inspires him and whose chromatic palette seems to correspond to his first image. Then, it is the computer, thanks to the algorithm specially designed for it, which will generate the code which will indicate precisely how to move the pieces of this huge puzzle.With a little patience, everyone can therefore transform their painting from image A to image B.Eventually Ced VERNAY intends to offer all the collectors of these magnetic pieces updates. Its customers will be able to change images.

When mathematics and algorithms mix with visual art.

It’s your turn!

Magnets

Peinture sur magnets

En 2016, Ced VERNAY développe un nouveau type de peinture où cette fois le pixel est magnet.  Rond aimanté, peint un à un, ils permettent ainsi à l’image d’être déconstruite puis recréée grâce à un ingénieux système de numérotation.

Les acquéreurs de ce type d’oeuvre prennent la place de l’artiste.  Ils peuvent créer de nouvelles oeuvres puis reconstruire l’image peinte initialement par Ced VERNAY. Des oeuvres non seulement  interactives, immersives mais aussi et surtout ludiques.

Un puzzle géant en quelque sorte, avec d’infinies combinaisons.

Savoir prendre la bonne distance

Encore une fois,  la prise de recul face à ces peintures magnétiques permet d’avoir une vision d’ensemble, d’ajuster la définition bref de faire son propre auto-focus. 

La distance que l’on prend par rapport à ses oeuvres permet une mise au point naturelle. De près on découvre la technique et l’infinie patience nécessaire pour peindre chacun de ces magnets. De loin le spectateur découvre comme par magie le sujet redevenu net. 

Néanmoins, pour cette série de peintures sur magnets, la première prise de recul physique ne dévoile par toujours aisément ses secrets. L’utilisation du téléphone portable est alors indispensable pour réduire instantanément la taille du tableau. Se faisant, les pixels se réduisent dans la même proportion et les scènes souvent issues du 7ème Art, apparaissent comme par magie.

Des oeuvres ludiques et interactives

Là encore, Ced VERNAY propose une immersion.  Cette fois il va plus loin dans sa proposition de prendre réellement possession de l’oeuvre. Les acquéreurs peuvent en effet prendre la  place de l’artiste. Laissez libre court à leur créativité ! Chaque magnet étant soigneusement numéroté au dos, il est bien sûr possible de revenir à l’image d’origine.

Mémoire cognitive

Dès lors que le cerveau mémorise l’image, un intéressant phénomène cognitif se produit. Le spectateur arrivera à voir le détail de ces scènes de film sans passer par l’utilisation des artifices numériques décrits plus haut. Notre vision couplée à nos capacités cérébrales nous rendent tout aussi performants que la lentille de nos caméras numériques.

Une oeuvre originale et deux tirages magnétiques

Ced VERNAY propose pour cette technique singulière une oeuvre d’art originale, la matrice, mais aussi une série limitée à deux exemplaires numérotés et signés. 

Chaque tableau original se décline en tirage limité à deux exemplaires. Signés en bas à droite, numérotés au dos, les originaux et les tirages sont livrés avec certificat d’authenticité signé par l’artiste. 

Les tableaux originaux, se composent d’une plaque métallique et de centaines de magnets peints un à un et numérotés au dos. Les tirages sont aussi contrecollés un à un sur des magnets numérotés au dos et positionnés sur une plaque en métal permettant leurs déplacements.

D'un tableau à l'autre en déplacant les mêmes magnets

peinture sur magnets

Transformers: peintures sur magnets interchangeables

Le pixel artiste français, Ced VERNAY espérait pouvoir proposer à ses collectionneurs une oeuvre qui pourrait grâce à son ingénieux système de numérotation proposer deux, voir plusieurs images avec les mêmes magnets. Des tableaux transformables à volonté qu’il appelle Transformers.

Grâce à une collaboration avec un mathématicien, Ced VERNAY a vu son voeu s’exhausser.
Rendu possible par la création d’un algorithme qui génère un code. Ce dernier indique alors comment déplacer les magnets sur le support métallique d’origine.

Comment ça marche ?

Ced VERNAY choisi d’abord une image qu’il va peindre patiemment, magnet par magnet. Il les numérote au dos, puis les positionne sur une plaque métallique également numérotée.

Une fois cette première oeuvre peinte, Ced VERNAY sélectionne une deuxième image qui l’inspire et dont la palette chromatique semble correspondre à sa première image. Ensuite, c’est l’ordinateur, grâce à l’algorithme spécialement conçu pour lui, qui va générer le code qui lui indiquera précisément comment déplacer les pièces de cet immense puzzle.

Avec un peu de patience, chacun peut donc transformer son tableau d’une image A à une image B.

A terme Ced VERNAY compte proposer à tous les collectionneurs de ces pièces magnétiques des mises à jour. Ses clients pourront ainsi changer de tableau, sans changer de support.

Quand les mathématiques et les algorithmes se mêlent à l’art visuel.

A vous de jouer !