Homo Digitalis

Pointillism revisited in Homo digitalis serie

This form of pointillism revisited in a very contemporary way, Ced VERNAY uses it as a symbol in his Homo Digitalis serie. A man drowned in a digital world, dependent on the screens and devices. Homo Digitalis is a virtual man, pixelated and fuzzy. It brings together around thirty portraits made by Ced VERNAY in handmade pixel art.

Know how to take the right distance

The distance we take from his works allows a natural focus. From close up we discover the technique and the infinite patience necessary to paint each of these colored squares. From away, the spectator magically discovers the subject that has become clear again. Behind this eye experience hides a strong message regarding the essential step back in front of the screens. These overwhelm us every day a little more, engulf us little by little in an unreal world. We are transforming into Homo Digitalis. Also, when we turn off our phones, tablets, computers and other TVs, Man takes his place, becomes clean and human.

next

Fun and magical experience

But at the same time, as a new message, Ced VERNAY also suggests that we use our cellphones to instantly reduce the pixel and thus make it clear. A way of saying that these digital tools are certainly to be used wisely, but they are essential to us. Homo Digitalis is not about to disappear.

Right hemisphere of our brain

Finally, Homo Digitalis is also a real invitation to explore the right hemisphere of our brain. It allows us to see things in a global way. The artist’s hand recreates the image, the eyes of the observer focus… in short, the Man regains his rights in front of the machine.

Upon demand artwork

Ced VERNAY finally offers to make pixelated oil paintings to order. Send us the photo of your choice: a member of your family, a personality, an image from a film … Ced VERNAY can even personalize your work on request by adding a few details (eg lucky numbers, important date, words or first names).

Tailor-made works ideal for original gifts that will forever mark the important moments of our lives: wedding, baptism, birthday …
For more information, contact us.

Homo Digitalis

Le pointillisme revisité

Cette forme de pointillisme revisitée de manière très contemporaine, Ced VERNAY l’utilise comme symbole dans sa série Homo Digitalis.Un homme noyé dans un monde numérique, dépendant des écrans de tous nos outils numériques. Bref l’Homo Digitalis est un homme virtuel, pixellisé et flou. Cette série de tableaux peints à l’huile porte donc ce nom: Homo Digitalis. Il rassemble une trentaine de portraits réalisés par Ced VERNAY en pixel art fait à la main.

Savoir prendre la bonne distance

La distance que l’on prend par rapport à ses oeuvres permet une mise au point naturelle. De près on découvre la technique et l’infinie patience nécessaire pour peindre chacun de ces carrés de couleurs. De loin le spectateur découvre comme par magie le sujet redevenu net. Derrière cette expérience oculaire se cache un message fort quant à la prise de recul indispensable face aux écrans. Ces derniers nous submergent chaque jour un peu plus, nous engloutissent petit à petit dans un monde irréel. Nous nous transformons en Homo Digitalis. Aussi, lorsque nous éteignons nos téléphones, tablettes, ordinateurs et autres télés, l’Homme reprend sa place, redevient net et humain.

Expérience ludique et magique

Mais en même temps, comme un nouveau message, Ced VERNAY nous propose aussi d’utiliser nos smart-phones pour réduire instantanément le pixel et ainsi faire la netteté. Une façon de dire que ces outils numériques sont certes à utiliser à bon escient, mais ils nous sont indispensables. L’Homo Digitalis n’est pas près de disparaître.

Hémisphère droit de notre cerveau

Enfin, l’Homo Digitalis est aussi une véritable invitation à explorer l’hémisphère droit de notre cerveau. Il nous permet de voir les choses de manière globale. La main de l’artiste recrée l’image, les yeux de l’observateur font la mise au point…bref l’Homme reprend ses droits face à la machine.

Des tableaux sur commande, du sur-mesure

Ced VERNAY propose enfin de réaliser des peintures à l’huile pixellisées sur commande. Adressez nous la photo de votre choix: un membre de votre famille, une personnalité, une image tirée d’un film… Ced VERNAY pourra même personnaliser votre oeuvre sur demande en y ajoutant quelques détails (ex: chiffres porte-bonheur, date importante, mots ou prénoms). 

Des oeuvres sur-mesure idéales pour des cadeaux originaux qui marqueront pour toujours les moments importants de nos vies: mariage, baptême, anniversaire…
Pour plus d’informations, entrez en contact avec nous.