Biography

Pixel art mosaics

A work in line with Roman or Greek mosaics, works by Paul Signac or Georges Seurat and more recently by Roy Lichtenstein or Victor Vasarely. Ced VERNAY appears as a contemporary pointillist, an explorer of the pixel.
A disturbing element which very often symbolizes the poor quality of an image, Ced VERNAY has placed it at the heart of his artistic work for almost twenty years.

Ced VERNAY pixelated world

Entering his universe is also a real invitation to explore the right hemisphere of our brain and its holistic perception.
It is indeed from small fragments called today pixels that we apprehend the elements from a general point of view. According to the followers of the pointillist theory, when the painting is looked at from a certain distance, the colored points cannot be distinguished from each other but blend in optically with each other.
It is therefore from these myriads of pixels that we manage to represent the whole, to discover these portraits that have become clear again.

Educational background

Born in 1968 in France, Ced VERNAY is passionate about painting and decides to follow an artistic training in the United States by integrating Northwest Community College. He then entered the prestigious Emile Cohl drawing school in Lyon.

Ced VERNAY lived more than ten years in Brazil where he began his artistic career.
Since his return to the south of France, Ced VERNAY has shown his work in the main French cities: Paris, Lyon, Marseille… He is also regularly invited to perform performances abroad, whether in Monaco, Tokyo, Miami or Cape Town in South Africa.

Ced VERNAY studio/ gallery

He installed his workshop / gallery in Marseille, in a space of more than 200 m2 in the industrial building of the Docks de Marseille. This place is accessible to everyone from Monday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
 
© christophe pouget
© christophe pouget

Bio

Des mosaïques au pixel art

Un travail dans la lignée des mosaïques romaines ou grecques, des oeuvres de Paul Signac ou Georges Seurat et plus récemment de Roy Lichtenstein ou Victor Vasarely.  Ced VERNAY apparait comme un pointilliste contemporain, un explorateur du pixel.
Elément perturbateur qui bien souvent symbolise la mauvaise qualité d’une image, Ced VERNAY le place lui au coeur de son travail artistique depuis bientôt vingt ans.
 

Le monde pixellisé de Ced VERNAY

Entrer dans son univers est aussi une véritable invitation à explorer l’hémisphère droit de notre cerveau et sa perception holistique.
C’est en effet à partir de petits fragments appelés aujourd’hui pixels que nous appréhendons les éléments d’un point de vue général. Selon les adeptes de la théorie pointilliste, lorsque le tableau est regardé à une certaine distance, les points de couleur ne peuvent être distingués les uns des autres mais se fondent optiquement les uns aux autres.
C’est donc bien à partir de ces myriades de pixels que nous parvenons à nous représenter l’ensemble, découvrir ces portraits redevenus nets.

Formation artistique

Né en 1968 en France, Ced VERNAY se passionne par la peinture et décide de suivre une formation artistique aux Etats-Unis en intégrant le Northwest Community College.  Il entre ensuite dans la prestigieuse école de dessin Emile Cohl à Lyon. 

Ced VERNAY a vécu plus de dix ans au Brésil où il a débuté sa carrière artistique.

Depuis son retour dans le sud de la France, Ced VERNAY a montré son travail dans les principales villes françaises: Paris, Lyon, Marseille… Il est aussi régulièrement invité à réaliser des performances à l’étranger que ce soit à Monaco, Tokyo, Miami ou au Cap en Afrique du Sud.
 

Atelier/galerie de  Ced VERNAY

Il a installé son atelier/galerie à Marseille, dans un espace de plus de 200 m2 dans le bâtiment industriel des Docks de Marseille. Ce lieu est accessible à toutes et à tous du lundi au samedi de 10h à 19h.
 
© christophe pouget
© christophe pouget